Tea Party Recipes Part 1 The Liquid Refreshments

Last weekend we decided to host a tea party please see the post “Would you like a spot of tea?’ for the full story and other recipes.

Sassy Water 

This recipe is straight off of Pinterest. Supposedly the water is something prescribed by Dr. Oz and is supposed to help burn off belly fat. I don’t know about that but I do know that water is delicious and refreshing especially on a hot day. I assume it burns off belly fat because you drink this instead of other sweet drinks. The water fills you up and the flavor works as an appetite suppressant. Some of the best water you will ever taste and there are no calories or artificial anything! (In the picture the pitcher isn’t dirty, it is frosty from the fridge)

  • 1 lemon sliced
  • 1/2 a cucumber sliced
  • 3-5 sprigs of mint
  • 1 tsp fresh ground ginger

Place ingredients in a pitcher fill with water and enjoy.  I find the water is better if it has sat overnight. I add more water when the pitcher gets half full and continue to do this for about a week.  I use fresh grated ginger which floats in the water and looks to some like it is dirty. If this turns you off then just put in thin slices of fresh ginger.

Use the other half of the cucumber to make a salad or cucumber sandwiches.

Tea

About 3 years ago I decided to give up soda’s but to help feed my nicotine habit I took up tea.  I am a very picky tea drinker and prefer black teas. I find that most grocery store teas get bitter if the steep for very long so I tend to drink my tea week.  I was at a tea shop called Tea Time  in Palo Alto and was talking to the clerk about this, she told me that most inexpensive teas are made from the dregs of the barrel and not of high quality. High quality teas won’t turn as bitter so quickly.  I have to say after sampling her teas I was sold.  When brewing teas it is also best to let them have breathing room and for them to swim around in the water. If you use a tea egg, only fill it about ¼ full to allow for expansion. Better yet just put it in the pot and use a strainer or a French press.

My favorite tea is Harney & Sons Fine Teas Hot Cinnamon Spice Loose Tea Tin – 4 oz
from Harney & Sons. It smells like Christmas and is naturally sweet.  The longer it steeps the sweater it gets.  Chris’s favorite is Earl Grey also from Harney & Sons.

Simone chose the Organic Huckleberry Red Herbal tea from Revolution. We picked this up at some specialty shop, I can’t remember where. It is caffeine free and comes in interesting pyramid shaped bags that allow for better flow through.  We all found the tea delicious; I especially liked mine with a bit of cream and sugar. It was like drinking dessert.  Sadly I couldn’t find the Huckleberry tea on their website but they did have other interesting flavors.

Disclaimer: I have not received any compensation for stores or products listed above at the time of this posting. However, I wouldn’t mind if they sent me a few free samples in the future. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Tea Party Recipes Part 1 The Liquid Refreshments

  1. Pingback: Would you like a spot of tea? | The Pin Addict

  2. I read the tea party backwards…part 3 to 1….so Jule When are you going to have a tea party for the girls?

Leave a Reply

