Battle of the Beauty Boxes – Birch Box

A few weeks ago I was bored and flipping through youtube video’s. Isn’t that how most great stories begin? Last time that happened he had a Mentos version of Coke vs. Pepsi war in our back yard. That was a lot of fun and a big mess but boy was my grass green that summer. I digress, while surfing videos and trying to stay out of trouble I came across this video by All That Glitters 21 about beauty boxes.  I am very much a girly girl and I love playing with make up and experimenting with new products and ideas, sadly most are just experiments and don’t make it out of the bathroom.

I was intrigued by the idea of a monthly make up subscription and started to investigate.  My original fear that they would be like those old Columbia House CD Deals. Get 10 CD’s for a penny then get succeed into a contract that ends up costing you an arm and a leg. I was happily surprised to find this was not true and there was no catch. You sign up, pay your monthly fee and get a present in the mail each month. You can cancel at any time, no strings.

There are a few companies that have a beauty box subscription. You can sign up for one box, a monlthy subscription, or a year. The longer you sign up for the more you save.   Each month you get a small box in the mail with about 5 sample beauty products, some are the one time sample sizes and some are full retail sizes. The boxes range in price but average about $10 a month. From the video it looked like you get about $10 or more with of product each month.  I thought how fun. I love getting packages in the mail and love trying new cosmetics. So I decided to sign up with 2 different companies. I figured I probably spend that much trying things out with Walmart why not sign up and be able to sample higher end cosmetics.

Not all of the beauty box companies are available to ship in the US, just yet but keep checking back. Some also have a waiting list. I decided to try Birch Box and Beauty Army. Mainly because they shipped to the US. Both had a waiting list but I was accepted within 2 weeks so I didn’t wait too long.  Below is my review of the box I received in June  from Birch Box with a list of the products and my opinions.

Birch Box

Subscription Cost : $10/month or $110/year shipping is included

I found Birch Box very easy to sign up for you create a profile and are asked basic questions about your beauty preferences. The whole process took less than 5 minutes.  When I received the box I was a little disappointed, I thought it would be bigger. When I opened the box It was kind of fun pulling back the tissue paper. and finding another cute package wrapped up inside. I felt like it was my birthday.   With Birchbox you don’t select the products so you are never sure what you are going to get. The box is actually a nice study box that could be very useful, In fact I am already thinking of a craft project I could use it for.

Inside I found:

Designer Band Aids by Cynthia Rowley https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/band-aid-cynthia-rowley Klutzy fashionistas, we feel your pain and so does designer Cynthia Rowley. The fashion visionary teamed up with BAND-AID® Brand to create these haute band aids, which cover up life’s little boo boos and look good doing it. $11.00

What the heck? Band Aids, ok they are cute and different but I don’t really use band aids but you never know. It was a full box of 20 band Aids, I would probably pay $5 at the store so ok, I am getting half my money’s worth so far.  You get 2 boxes 40 band aids for $11. A bit pricey for me but once in awhile they are fun.

Melvita Eau Florale de Rosehttps://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/melvita-floral-water These refreshing sprays combine lightweight hydrating properties with deliciously addictive scents. Powered by organic ingredients like rose petals and lavender (plus always-beneficial H20), each spray soothes, firms, and heals delicate skin. And, with light, fresh fragrances, they can also be used as a hair and home scent. $22 for 6.75 oz

Translation- fancy rose scented water. My bottle was 0.95 oz, not bad, so far I am happy with the sample sizes but this just smells like rose water. The rose scent is strong and personally I think rose scent smells like old ladies. It isn’t bad, just not my thing. I am not a big scent perfume person so don’t let my review put me off. If you like roses try it.

Joya Âmes Sœurs Parfum –  https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/joya-ames-soeurs-parfumA Scent of Soulmates This new perfume has a storied pedigree. After reading The Book Of Lost Fragrances, a thriller that details the quest to locate a scent created in the days of Cleopatra, fragrance designer Frederick Bouchardy was inspired to bring the novel’s star scent to life. Even if thrillers aren’t your favorite literary genre, you’re sure to love the spellbinding blend of orange blossom, myrrh, and other exotic notes $28 for 0.34 oz

This isn’t a bad perfume, and it is a nice little sample size that I will be able to get several uses out of it. I think it has a nice clean scent with a hint of musky sensuality. 

Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45+ https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/dr-jart-beauty-balm-premium-1-5-fl-oz We’re always skeptical when products promise the sun and the moon, but Dr. Jart’s Premium Beauty Balm truly delivers. A four-in-one primer, moisturizer, sunscreen, and treatment serum, the formula helps you cut down on the beauty cabinet clutter. Plus, it has advanced brightening properties and anti-aging benefits. Even Martha Stewart can’t boast multitasking skills quite like this. $39 for 1.5 oz

Now this is worth the $10 subscription price. I recently bought the BB Cream from Smash Box and I have to say I like this product better. It works better as a primer and covers up miner flaws better. It is not ment to be used as a foundation but provides light coverage if you just want a little something. It also has a higher spf the Smash box. I am sold on this product and am planning on purchasing it again when the sample runs out.  The sample size is 0.33 oz and you use so little it is going to last awhile.

theBalm® cosmetics Stainiac https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/the-balm-stainiac You wouldn’t know it from the state of our makeup drawer, but we’re actually beauty minimalists. Our motto: Why use two products when you can get the same effect with one? This two-in-one lip and cheek stain gives us a natural, understated flush and helps us get out the door faster. The gel formula looks dark in the tube but delivers a sheer tint. $17 for 0.3 oz

I love the idea of one product that does multiple things like the BB cream above.  I was excited about this product since it was called a stain, I thought it would be good to give a bit of color on my non make up days. Something light that would last.  It went on very easily with no streaks or problems and dried quickly. I then used some chapstick to give my lips some moisture.  The color was great and I was very happy. I was disappointed that the color didn’t last that long. In about 2 hours it was gone. I thought being a stain it would last longer.  I was happy to find that I received the full size and not a sample in my box.  It wasn’t bad but not worth $17 to me, if it had truly stained my lips and lasted longer than I would have been happier.

Oribe Shampoo and Conditioner for Beautiful Color https://www.birchbox.com/shop/birchbox-1/june-2012/june12box26/oribe-beautiful-color-shampoo Oribe, hair stylist to the fabulous, knows that you have to give color-treated hair special attention. He’s designed an ultra-gentle shampoo that effectively cleanses without stripping away any of that gorgeous color — while also delivering repairing ingredients that help tresses stay healthy. Shampoo $36 for 8 oz, Conditioner $39 for 6.8 ounces,

Wow, that must be some good shampoo and conditioner for that price. I received a single use sample size and decided to save it for when I took my next trip since the samples are easier to pack then small bottles that may leak in your luggage. So Honestly I can’t tell you anything about it.

My overall thoughts on Birch Box are that I love it. I think I certainly got my $10 worth. Even though I didn’t care for all of the products the ones I like were worth the money and it was nice to be able to try out the new products.

Some perks that I like about Birch Box, there are several videos and great information that show and explain how to use the products plus some great beauty tips.  There is even a Mens subscription box.

They also have a point rewards system. You can earn points towards discounts and free products by referring friends, purchasing products, and  for reviewing products you received.I got  60 points just for writing reviews.  There are also several deals and ways to earn double bonus points. Free shipping for orders over $50.  At 100 points you get $10 credit to spend on any of their products! Cool Beans to that!

Birchbox is a great way to discover new grooming, beauty and lifestyle products. Sample top products from high-end brands, get expert advice, buy new favorites and earn points with every purchase. So if you like trying out new products and getting cool surprises in the mail I encourage you to sign up. I chose the monthly subscription for $10 which includes shipping so there are no strange hidden fees. If you sign up for a year you end up saving $10.  If you are interested please use the link below, I won’t lie if you sign up with this link I will receive 50 Birch Box Points. https://www.birchbox.com?raf=5hkw7

There is a cool perfume called Juliette Has a Gun Not a Perfume, sounds like something made just for me.  It would make a cool birthday present. Hint Hint!  

4 thoughts on “Battle of the Beauty Boxes – Birch Box

  1. Very interesting…sound like fun…perhaps the stain would last longer without the chap stick used first.

  2. Pingback: Battle of the Beauty Boxes – Beauty Army | The Pin Addict

  3. Pingback: Battle of the Beauty Boxes- Birchbox-July Box | The Pin Addict

Leave a Reply

