Surprise Bread Pudding- Doughnut Style!

My dear sweet husband came home yesterday carrying a bag full of goodies.  He mentioned he brought home some bread for me. Bread one of our biggest weaknesses right after a good Margarita and Nutella. Mmmm Nutella Margarita’s, have to work on a recipe for that.  Opps sorry lost my train of thought.  When I opened the bag I saw a bunch of stale doughnuts and I inquired why he brought them home, knowing that I am trying to lose weight and eat better. He said he couldn’t bare to throw them out and new I could make something delicious with them.  Hmmm, my mind began to churn with the challenge of revamping these stale doughnuts and behold, I have before you a wonderful confectionery concoction-  Almond Doughnut Bread Pudding.    You must forgive me I am reading Bram Stokers Dracula and have gotten caught up in the wonderful language used in the tail. If you read the above with an English accent it sounds better.

So off to to lab I went to see what ingredients I had on hand to transform the hard dry lump of sweet gluten into something fit for the gods. OK I am getting a bit full of myself but it did turn out might tasty. I received good reviews from my co-monkeys who served as guinea pigs.

Those who know my cooking, know I don’t measure but just eyeball things so all measurements are approximate.

Almond Bread Pudding

  • 7 doughnuts (or 10 cups of stale bread)
  • 1/4 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 and 1/2 cups Almond Milk
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Sliced Almonds

Cut doughnuts into 1 inch pieces and placed in a greased baking dish.  Mix cream, milk, eggs, and spices in a bowel until well blended. Pour over bread.  Let sit in the refrigerator overnight or at least 1 hour.  Top with slivered almonds. Bake at 375 for 30-45 minutes.  Serve with maple syrup, caramel syrup, or a glaze.

Yes it was that easy!   Now hear are some alterations. My baking dish says it holds 12 1/2 cups so the 10 cups of bread is an estimate. you can see in the picture the size/types of doughnuts I used. Yes I even threw in the chocolate frosted one!  If you use stale bread you should add about 1/4-1/2 cup of sugar.  You don’t have to use cream or almond milk. I used these because it was what I had on hand. This would have been great with some chopped apples or raisins.   There is so much more you could do, bread pudding is such a versatile dessert, use your imagination.  I didn’t have any syrup on hand and didn’t feel like making a glaze so I served mine with caramel sauce. It was delicious!

One of my co-monkeys mentioned she wished she had time to bake then I told her the whole process only took about 5 minutes. The hardest part was cutting the doughnuts and cracking the eggs. It really is just a dump and pour recipe.

Now where is that margarita someone was talking about?….

 

Side note – The dish I used is a large covered baker from Pampered Chef. Cost is $85 this is such a versatile dish it is well worth the investment. I use it for so many things and the stoneware helps to keep the dish warm.

Leave a Reply

