Pickled What? Jo Jost’s Picked Eggs

If you have ever been to Long Beach, CA then you had to have heard of Joe Josts. If you didn’t I will bet you have witnessed one of their famous T-Shirts.

“Joe Jost’s is known the world over for serving up the coldest beer, tastiest “Joe’s Special” sandwiches, pickled eggs and fresh roasted peanuts, and warmest atmosphere of any tavern in the United States.”

My family often stops by for a polish sausage sandwich and a batch of pickled eggs.  Many years ago my mother-Wendy gave me a copy of an old newspaper clipping with their famous recipe and I was overjoyed.

These eggs are soo good! I bet if you put a plate of these in front of me and Cool Hand Luke, I would kick his butt in an egg eating contest every time!

Joe Jost’s Pickled Eggs

8 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
1 (12 ounce) jar yellow chile peppers
2 tablespoons pickling spice
1 cup white wine vinegar
1 1/2  cups water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 teaspoons salt

Mix all ingredients except eggs together in a glass jar with tight-fitting lid. Put peeled eggs in liquid. Don’t refrigerate. Keep eggs in sealed jar at least two days before using. May refrigerate after two days.

Now you may be wondering why I am posting this recipe during fitness month. Eggs are a great source of protein and only contain 100 calories. I personally don’t eat the yolk so they are only 20 calories. No joke, all the calories and cholesterol are in the yolk, all the protein goodness is in the whites.

I usually double or triple the batch.  I will also keep adding eggs. You can re-use the pickling liquid 1-2 times. The recipe above and picture comes from OC Weekly. They mention refrigerating them after 2 days. I have never done this and am still here to talk about it. In fact I have eaten the eggs after they have been on my counter for 2 months and they were still good. Just keep them in a well sealed jar.

These make a great low calorie snack that you can easily grab and eat.

Happy pickling!

One thought on “Pickled What? Jo Jost’s Picked Eggs

  1. Pingback: Family Dinner Night – Healthy Tomato non-Vodka Sauce | The Pin Addict

Leave a Reply

