I want to be a skinny girl

I want to expand on a comment I received on Friday on my post “I’m a Fat Girl”  My good friend commented “Jule, I think being healthy is more important than being skinny” Being healthy is what is most important, but I am not healthy, I don’t look healthy or feel healthy.

Let me clarify what I mean by saying “I want to be a skinny girl”. I mean I want to lose weight; I want to be healthy and feel good about myself. I do not want to look like an anorexic model or twig but I want to feel good and feel comfortable about myself. I am not advocating a crash diet or extreme measures. I am taking it one day at a time, taking small baby steps, trying to develop healthy habits that will last a life time and a benefit of these changes will be weight loss.

Genetically I am lucky that I naturally have low blood pressure and low cholesterol but there are many more health issues that being overweight contributes to:  I now snore like an old steam train, I suffer from sleep apnea and heart burn. My joints hurt, I get winded walking across the room, and I have no stamina. My weight and health is keeping me from doing the things I want to do and enjoying life.

The journey I am on is not just about losing weight if it was I would just go get liposuction, this journey is about becoming healthy in both my mind and body. Part of this journey is accepting my part in how I am and how I want to be.

I am a smart, beautiful, intelligent person, and am surrounded by wonderful friends and family who love and accept me no matter what my weight is. But I do not feel healthy and happy and making these life style changes are part of my journey.

2 thoughts on “I want to be a skinny girl

  1. i totally understand the weight causing issues you are having.. I had/have the same!.. loosing weight did help with most of those probs.. good luck, what helped me to eat better was thinking of the TV show hoarders.. thinking of what I was doing to my body with crap food is similar to hoarding crap in your home..not to mention seeing what the heart and liver of a fat person looks like.. the poor heart has it so hard pumping away, but to add the fat to it isn’t very nice! Thanks for this, I need to get back on track and eat better too!
    hugs!

    • I love your hoarders analogy! It is so true. I remember walking past a display of lard at the super market. This was shortly after I had lost 10 pounds. Each package was 1 pound and I was shocked when I say how much fat 10 pounds was. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

