Them’s Fighten words- Portion Control and Moderation

Don’t you just hate when you hear those words?  Said in a whinny nagging tone “Losing weight is all about portion control and moderation”. Yeah, Yeah.  Blah Blah.

I know, I know, you have heard it all before and I am here to say it again. I hate the idea of portion control and moderation. I want to eat what I want, when I want and how I want, but I don’t want to suffer the consequences so this is something I must learn.

I am not here to tell you to weigh and measure everything you eat, that is just too much work for me. I am not here to tell you that you need to be strong and have willpower. Heck if you want a cookie, have a dang cookie, just don’t eat half the package in one sitting.  If you want a bowl of ice cream, have one but consider using a smaller bowl. If you want more go get more but don’t eat the whole carton.

When there is some sort of sweet treat in front of me I have very little self-control. I am the one who licks the chocolaty goodness off of the plate or wrapper so that none is wasted. I have been known to eat 2-3 packages of mini Oreos with milk like I am eating cereal and call it dinner. Strangely if you put a bowl of steamed broccoli in front of me I have no problem obtaining. I think Oreos must have some magical hypnotic power that sends out subliminal messages that say “eat me”.

I saw a interesting gadget on pinterest called a Portion Control Plate. I thought it was an interesting idea but I tried to think of something better.

Then one day while shopping at Wal-mart I noticed some Ziploc plastic containers that came in 1, 2, and 4 cup sizes.  Then the brilliant idea hit me “Why not use smaller containers to help portion and store my food?”

When I want a snack I fill up the one cup size with nuts, crackers, or dry cereal. While I eat my snack I take several good sips of water and find that one cup is enough to fill me up and satisfy any cravings. I use the 2 cup size to package leftovers for lunch and find this is the perfect amount. The 4 cup size I use to store larger amounts in the freezer, salads, or items like fruit.  By doing this I have noticed that I have greatly cut down the amount of food I eat.

One thought on “Them’s Fighten words- Portion Control and Moderation

Leave a Reply

