What to do with a giant zucchini? Make Salsa!

A friend let me raid his garden and I came home with a ton of lovely tomatoes, peppers, and this giant zucchini.

This thing was so big it could feed a small family for a week. Well maybe not but you get the picture. I was trying to come up with a creative healthy way to prepare this giant squash and came up with the idea for making a salsa. I headed over to the computer and found several great recipes. Who knew zucchini salsa was so popular. Below is my variation on a recipe posted by Bergy on food.com for Canned Zucchini Salsa  This recipe read more like a Zucchini Pickle so I made some changes to make it more salsa like.

Zucchini Salsa 

  • 10 cups shredded zucchini (I didn’t left the peel on)
  • 1 cup (1 medium) chopped onion
  • 5 jalapenos (Add more or less to taste)
  • 2 tsp salt
  •  2 tablespoons dry mustard
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder (I used dried garlic because I didn’t have powder)
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 cups white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoons red pepper flakes (add to taste)
  •  1 teaspoon pepper
  • 28 oz fire roasted chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

I pulled out my big daddy food processor to make this easier, I shredded that giant zucchini and coincidentally ended up with 10 cups.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I chopped up the jalapeno peppers, I used 5 peppers, I decided not to use the small green ones because I didn’t know what they were and it was hot enough for me.

I wanted the tomatoes to be a bit finer so I added them to the food processor, use the pulse or you will end up with sauce. Then I chopped the onions. (they are pink from the tomatoes). What I want to know is why I never thought to use my food processor to chop onions before, I couldn’t believe how easy it was. I feel so silly! All those wasted tears.

Throw everything into the pot and bring to a boil, let simmer for about 15 minutes and you are done!  It couldn’t be easier.

The original recipe has directions for canning, I didn’t want to deal with that so I just put it in jars, let cool then stored in the fridge.  I had 3 parties to attend (Labor Day weekend) so I knew it wouldn’t go to waste.

The recipe made more than the 2 and 1/2 pints pictured. In fact there was probably 6 more cups in the bowl behind the jars.

The original recipe calls for more vinegar and brown sugar but was afraid it would taste more like a pickle and I wanted more of a salsa. It had a great tangy sweet flavor, and got better the next day.

It was a hit! My friends couldn’t get enough! I served it with tortilla chips. Afterwards I put some on a chicken sandwich instead of mayo and it was great! You could even eat it as a salad.

I think next time I make it I will do the full canning process and give it away for Christmas gifts.

One thought on “What to do with a giant zucchini? Make Salsa!

Leave a Reply

