Homemade (wet) Dry Shampoo spray! Greasy hair miracle.

It is no secret, I am a very oily person add to this that I have severe hair issues. If I wash my hair too much it irritates my scalp, causes itching, dryness and major dandruff. If I don’t wash my hair often I end up with a icky oily mess.  That is until I found this miracle of miracles. Wet dry shampoo spray.

My adventures through Pinterest and general boredom led me to this wonderful site called wellnessmama.com and her homemade recipe for Dry shampoo and dry shampoo spray 

I have used commercial dry shampoo sprays in the past. Some work better than others but all leave my hair feeling coated and looking a bit dull. I was skeptical when I read the posting but since I had all the ingredients on hand I thought why not give it a try.  The commercial brands can cost over $5 this spray costs just pennies.

Here is her original recipe

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot or cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup vodka, rubbing alcohol or witch hazel (what I use, from here)
  • essential oils or a spritz of your favorite perfume to scent

What to do: Mix all ingredients in a small spray bottle and shake well. Shake before each use and spray on roots or oily parts of hair. Let dry and style as usual.

What I did.

1. I used cornstarch because arrowroot sounds like some fancy herb I have to go to a specialty store to buy and I didn’t want to spend money on something I have never heard of and might never use again.

2. I used 91% isopropyl alcohol again because that is what I had on hand. I couldn’t see wasting good vodka on my hair but heck if you have a party and someone leaves a bottle of the cheap stuff this is a great way to get rid of it. Witch hazel is just basically watered down rubbing alcohol.

3. Lavender essential oil.

I poured everything into a spray bottle and shook well, then doused my hair. I got about 6 applications out of the bottle. make sure you shake well before each use as the cornstarch will settle.

Spray hair, brush through and voila! Good smelling, clean looking hair. It was that easy.

Miracles! My hair looked and felt great, it also dried fairly quickly when using this product.

Here are the before and after pictures. Yeah I know a need a hair cut and have a ton of split ends. I told you I had serious hair issues.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Homemade (wet) Dry Shampoo spray! Greasy hair miracle.

  1. I must try this! I’m a huge fan of dry shampoo or in my case I usually just use plain old cornstarch but if I don’t keep up on my highlights it makes my dark roots look ashy, this wet spray sounds like an amazing solution. I’ve tried the Suave and Tresemme Dry Shampoo’s but they’re more like hairspray with cornstarch and make my hair feel like straw which is awesome for a styling aid when you need tons of volume but sucky if you simply want to get rid of the greasies.

    • I have also tried those commercial brands and agree, my hair looked o.k., not greasy but dull and ashy and felt terrible. The Tresemme does smell nice though. This was so easy to mix up, dried quickly and left my hair looking and feeling clean.

  2. I don’t think witch hazel is watered down alcohol. It’s a creature of its own. I would do a little more research before stating that as fact.

  3. Hi, I really like this recipe, but I use the witch hazel to make it all natural. FYI…witch hazel is NOTHING like watered down rubbing alcohol. It is a shrub with fragrant yellow flowers that is widely grown as an ornamental. Also, arrowroot powder had some amazing qualities and is not too hard to find. Walmart does not carry it, but my local farmers market did, maybe yours does, too.

    • You are absolutely correct, I was always under the assumption that it was just a lower strength of alcohol. But when I looked at the bottled I noticed you were right. I appreciate you setting me straight!

  4. Is there any alternative of alcohol? Im basically from India and alcoholic beverages are banned in the state I live in. I am looking for an alternative to vodka, alcohol or any such thing since I cannot find it here. Any suggestions? 🙂

    • While you could use Vodka as the alcohol in this recipe, I used what is known as rubbing or isopropyl alcohol. This type is not safe to drink. It is used to sterilize objects or cuts and scrapes. If this is not available you could try witch hazel. Perhaps plain vinegar might work but there would be a vinegar smell. I have heard of sprinkling dry corn starch on your hair (use small amounts) then throughly brushing hair is an alternative.

Leave a Reply

