Down the toilet and other potty talk

I have been reading several “Natural” methods to clean your house and thought I would try to find a better way to clean and sanitize my toilet.  I have to say that cleaning the bathroom is one of my least favorite chores but I would rather scrub the toilet than clean the bath and the shower. Probably because I have a great method that requires little to know scrubbing. This week I thought I would put it to the test against more green/natural methods and see what was better/cheaper/ and or easier.

First lets look at the toilet, I have two bathrooms so I was able to test out two natural methods at the same time and compare the results.  Yes these are my actual toilets. I admit I am a lazy housewife but I actually put off cleaning them so that I could properly test these methods. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  This is my spare bathroom. It is hardly used so is often forgotten and builds up some nasty hard water stains.

The first method :

1/4 cup Baking soda and 1 cup Vinegar.- Sprinkle baking soda around the toilet then pour on white vinegar. Let sit for 15 minutes, scrub and rinse away.

Pros – I had the ingredients on hand and they are very in-expensive.

Cons – The directions involved scrubbing.

Baking soda is a great non abrasive cleaning scrub and vinegar is great for removing hard water and is a natural deodorizer.  Combined these create scrubbing bubbles that are supposed to help scrub away all the ick while leaving a sparkling clean deodorized bowl.  The foaming action is actually great for unclogging sinks especially when caused by grease build up.

Outcome- Completely failed! My toilet looked no better than if I had just used a brush and some water. It was a waste of time.  Want to see the after picture? Just look at the before, it didn’t look any different.

The Second method.

1/4 Borax and juice from 1/2 a lemon

Pros – Inexpensive ingredients that are on hand

Cons- Also involved scrubbing.

I have a lemon tree in my backyard and love the idea of finding ways to use them up.Directions- sprinkle the Borax on the sides of the bowl then squeeze a lemon into the bowl.  Let sit for 15-30 minutes, then flush all your cares away.   I let it sit for about 30 minutes just to give it some more times. It had nothing to do with me getting distracted by Pinterest.

Outcome – The first thing I noticed is that my bathroom smelled lemony fresh, I got very excited. Swished the brush around in the bowl and flushed everything away. Only to find nothing! Again the bowl looked the same.

I am all for being green and finding better methods but they have to work. Sorry but I am going back to my tried and true method.

How to really clean a toilet with virtually no scrubbing.

1. Use a plunger to plunge out as much water as you can from the toilet. Don’t skip this step! If you don’t remove the water the cleaner will dilute and not be as effective.

2. Let the toilet dry for a few minutes. Good time to wipe down the counters, pick up the wet towels from the floor, etc.

3. Coat everything with Clorax toilet bowl cleaner.  I have used other brands and find this works the best. make sure it gets all up under the rim and coats all the sides.

4. Close the lid and walk away, just walk away, don’t do anything. Trust me. Put the pumice stone down and walk away.  Come back in 30 minutes.

5. Use a brush to gently scrub for about 30 seconds. No kidding I just brushed for about 30 seconds because that is all that was needed.

6. Flush the toilet and use the brush to swirl the water around so everything rinses away.

7. There you go a nice clean toilet with virtually no scrubbing!

Hints: If you have really bad hard water stains plunge the toilet water out. Soak paper towels in vinegar and lay on the stains. Let sit for a few hours or over night and stains will dissolve away.

Another great product for tough stains is Bar Keepers Friend, this works great but involves scrubbing.

Leave a Reply

