Miracle No Scrub Shower Cleaner

So my absolutely least favorite thing to clean is the shower. I just hate it, I will iron all your clothes, wash your windows, and scrub your floors if you would just clean my showers for me. Perhaps before you agree, you should see my shower.

So I saw multiple posts on Pinterest about this shower cleaner that uses Dawn and Vinegar and I thought why not give it a try. I am so happy I did, now I don’t have to clean anyone’s windows or floors.  This is amazing!

So simple even my big brother was able to do it. (after I multiple texts back and forth) So simple you don’t need a recipe.

Miracle No Scrub Shower Cleaner 

  • 1 cup Dawn (the blue stuff)
  • 1 cup white vinegar (the cheap stuff)

Pour in a spray bottle, shake gently. That’s it!

Some recipes recommend heating the vinegar first, I don’t know why perhaps it is to help everything mix together but I made a large bottle to keep on hand and forgot to heat the vinegar and had great results.

Once mixed spray the entire shower so it looks as if it was spray painted with blue Dawn. Be very liberal with it. I used about about 1 and 1/2 cups of the mixture. Warning! The vinegar smell can be strong so make sure you have good ventilation while spraying!

Now the hard part. Let it sit for a least 2 hours.  Some recipes said leave for 15 minutes but I found this didn’t work as well.  After 2 hours spray off with water and use a washcloth to help wipe off any excess.  No scrubbing involved, just some vigorous wiping with a plain old washcloth.

The theory on how it works: When we shower body oils, soap, and hard water are splattered all over the shower. when they dry they leave mineral encrusted soap spots that are a pain to remove. Vinegar is great at dissolving hard water, Dawn is a detergent that breaks down oil and melts the soap scum. Together they become a shower cleaning superhero!

Now I have to admit there were some spots that could have used a bit of scrubbing but that involves work and I have been known to break out in a rash when exposed to housework.

Here is a great recipe from my mother to help keep the shower clean longer.

Moms After Shower Spray

  • 5 parts vinegar
  • 1 part Dawn

Pour in a spray bottle and shake gently. Spray  shower/bath after each use. It will help cut down on hard water and soap buildup.

2 thoughts on “Miracle No Scrub Shower Cleaner

  1. Hey daughter, that after shower spray has zero water..it is 1 part Dawn to 5 parts vinegar…similar to the cleaner but a lot more vinegar and less soap.

Leave a Reply

