Sunshine in a glass (Green Smoothie)

I first read about this green smoothie on Oprah or Dr. Oz or one of those shows. I decided to try it since I don’t eat nearly enough vegetables and I fell in love with it.  It is really easy to make. It may not look that great in fact my co-monkeys make fun of me and call it green sludge. It is just one of those things you have to try to believe.  On the show is was described as tasting like sunshine in a glass.

Green Smoothie

  • 1 cucumber
  • Juice from 1 lemon and 1 lime
  • Handful of fresh spinach or kale
  • 1 apple
  • 1-2 stalks of celery
  • Any other vegetable you would like such as carrots, broccoli, tomatoes, etc.

This is so easy, no need to peal anything! In fact leave on the peels because that is where the vitamins are.  Just slice into chunks and put in the blender.  I do remove the seeds from the apple but that is it.

The key to this smoothie is the apple for added sweetness. If you don’t have an apple feel free to use other fruit such as grapes or berries but I prefer the apple.

I put hlaf the ingredients in the blender and let them blend while I prepared the remaining vegetables.  Be careful not to add to many ingredients that are acidic such as tomatoes as the smoothie can get too acidic.

  • If the smoothie is too thick you can add water

some water, make sure to blend it well. In the pictures below mine was very thick so I poured some into 1/2 pint jars add water to the blender and blended some more. This also helped get all of the blended vegetables out of the blender.  I then put the jars in the freezer so that I would have smoothies ready to go each morning. By freezing them I was able to use the smoothie as an ice pack to keep my lunch cold on the way to work.  By break time the jar would be thawed out enough for me to drink.

I like to add more water to the glass to help increase my water intake. I find this works well to tide me over from breakfast to lunch and stop snacking.

Here is a picture from my desk, my sippy cup with some water down smoothie, my tea gotta have hot tea in the morning, and a delicious green smoothie for the afternoon.

 

Looks like green sludge but tastes delicious! 

One thought on “Sunshine in a glass (Green Smoothie)

  1. Pingback: Today I feel Skinny! | The Pin Addict

Leave a Reply

