Slow Cooker Apple Pie for Breakfast

OMG!!! This is amazing, I am in love with this recipe!

Reasons I love this recipe

  1.  I love the idea of using my slow cooker to wake up to a nice warm breakfast
  2. There are only 5 ingredients, (plus water).
  3. It is not sickly sweet.
  4. It is super easy
  5. It can be made ahead of time as a freezer meal.
  6. It is super versatile
  7. SO much better than store bought instant oatmeal.
  8. It is healthy and delicious!!

Ok enough hype on to the recipe. The original recipe I found at goodrecipesonline.com but I tweaked it a bit. The original recipe did not have any sugar but I thought it needed a touch more.

Apple Pie for Breakfast 

  • 1 cup of steel cut oats
  • 3 diced apples
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 cups water

Place all the ingredients in a slow cooker, mix, set and walk away. Bake for 8 hours on low. Wake up to the wonderful aroma of apple pie.

That’s it, the hardest part was pealing the apples.

Now some hints:

  1. I used me new slow cooker with a timer, after 8 hours it switches to warm so my breakfast was not over cooked or burnt. I highly recommend you have some type of timer on your slow cooker if you use this recipe.
  2. I added an extra cup of water to the original recipe to also help avoid the dish from becoming dry and burning.
  3. I took the left overs and packaged it in freezer containers so that I have several healthy breakfasts ready when I am running late.
  4. I made it without the sugar this time, hubby loved it and thought it was perfect. I thought it needed a bit of sweetening so next time I will add 1/4 cup brown sugar and some nuts! Definitely some nuts.

This is such an easy recipe that can easily be changed up.

  • Try using bananas and nuts instead of apples, or any type of fresh or frozen berries.
  • If making a freezer meal don’t add any liquid until you are ready to cook.
  • Use milk or coconut milk in place of some of the water
  • Top with milk, maple sugar, nuts, fresh fruit, whatever!

If you have not had steal cut oats you so need to try them.

  • The have a heartier texture and are less mushy than regular oatmeal.
  • They are harder to breakdown then regular oats so they help to stabilize blood sugar.
  • Only have 150 calories per 1/2 cup.
  •  Good source of complex carbohydrates
  • Provides 10 g of soluble fiber, which works to lower cholesterol per 1/2 cup
  • Provides 14 g of protein per 1/2 cup
  • Good source of Vitamin B and Iron   Read more: www.livestrong.com  

Update: My lovely brother was balking at the 1/4 cup of brown sugar but I don’t think he realized that this was not a single serving.  To help him out I used fatsecret.com to figure out the nutritional information.  I estimated six 3/4  cup servings in the recipe.

Main points: 190 Calories, 4 gm of fiber, 3.5 gm of protein, 9% of your daily Iron- Not bad for something that tastes like dessert.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Apple Pie for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

